William Kane

Town Council
Title: Mayor
Phone: 970-927-8232
Kane Headshot 2020

Bill and his wife Carolyn have been residents of the Roaring Fork Valley for the past 45 years. He holds a Masters Degree in Planning and Landscape architecture from the University of Pennsylvania He started his career as Planning Director for Aspen and Pitkin County from 1974-78. He served as a partner and principal with Design Workshop in Aspen from 1984-1996 and then Vice President for Planning and Development for Aspen Skiing company from 1996-2006. In 2009 during the great recession he joined the Town of Basalt as City Manager and lead the Town trough a host of difficult budgeting choices. During his tenure Bill was instrumental in the purchase of the Pan Fork and creation of inducements which attracted Whole Foods company to the valley. Bill is currently working on a special projects basis and Advisory Principal for Design Workshop.

In his work for Aspen and Pitkin, Bill authored the Aspen/Pitkin County Growth Management plan which contains many policies and regulations which are still in effect today. 

Most recently Bill has just completed 10 years of service on the Colorado Parks and Wildlife commission. He also just completed 6 years as Board president of the Art Base in Basalt and completed a term on the Board of the Aspen Valley Land Trust. He co- moderated the Aspen Institute Community Forum on Innovative Mobility which resulted in an actions plan for the EOTC, He has had a career of community service.
Carolyn has also been active in the valley and completed 25 years of service at Aspen Valley hospital as an Obstetrical Nurse. She also recently cycled o? the Board of the Basalt Regional Library where she served as Board President. She has been a volunteer Tutor for English in Action for the past 9 years.

The Kane's reside on Riverside drive in Basalt along the Frying Pan where Bill knows most the trout by name. He is also a long time avid skier, biker, golfer, fisherman.

Bill was elected to office in April 2020 for a term of 4 years to expire in April 2024.


Return to Staff Directory